Insomnia, Caffeine and Artificial Neural Networks

Pretty badass title, no? Makes it sound like I’m force feeding espresso shots to an overworked robot. Maybe I am.

As some of you know, I’ve been having sleeping troubles lately. In the past week, I went over 3 days without sleeping. I even started hallucinating. I still managed to make it to classes and all that good stuff, but I wasn’t able to do much more than that besides listening to music and appreciating bodily sensations. Now, the music sounded sooo good! And food tasted amazing and had such defined textures. Stretching was a delight. It was as if I were constantly high. In case you find yourself in a similar position, are actually high, or just want to listen to something beautiful: https://soundcloud.com/shlohmo/haerts-wings-shlohmo-remix

Anyway, much as I ain’t got no time for drugs on the daily, I can’t be spending my nights in a hip-hop daze. I have some things I want to accomplish, and the lack of sleep was just an excuse masquerading as a legit reason for not doing them. So as the hours inched past the night before last, I decided that as long as I’m not sleeping, I should use myself in a series of experiments in productivity.

From 2am-8am: yoga and candlelight meditation; 4 cups of coffee; cleaned; read philosophy of AI book; researched intelligence analysis, spies and IQ.
8:15am-11am: chinese philosophy class, 1 cup of tea.
11:15am-11:45am: meeting.
12pm – actually felt that it would be possible to nap. proceeded to sleep through computer science and german, which was a bummer.
6pm: woke up super tired.

Take-home lesson from experiment #1 – Being productive does help me sleep, but I have yet to figure out how much/when to sleep to feel rested and not miss cool stuff like seeing the sun.

Anyway, I am having a good time with the artificial intelligence books. I will maybe go into some more detail later, because right now I feel too tired to do the topic justice. Let’s just say my nerdy little heart is happy.

One response to “Insomnia, Caffeine and Artificial Neural Networks

Leave a Reply

